Wyoming is a constitutional carry state for residents, but shall issue concealed permits for reciprocity purposes. The minimum age to obtain a permit is 21 years old. Although at the discretion of the sheriff of the county of residence an otherwise eligible candidate may qualify if between 18 and 20 years old. Applications for a Wyoming concealed carry permit should submit their application to the sheriff of their county of residence. Nonresident permits are not issued by Wyoming. The fee to obtain the initial concealed carry permit is $50, and is nonrefundable. Applicants must show proof of familiarity with firearms. This competency requirement can be completed a number of ways, this may include online education as no live fire exercise is required by the state. Upon issuance, a permit is valid for 5 years. Those with a concealed permit can carry concealed in 36 other states.

This information was last updated in March 2019.

Reciprocity Map for Wyoming

Use the tabs below to display states that will accept a Wyoming concealed carry permit or those states that Wyoming will honor. Click the sections below for a complete listing of states in each category, along with other relevant information.

States That Honor Wyoming Concealed Carry
  1. Alabama
  2. Alaska – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
  3. Arizona – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
  4. Arkansas
  5. Colorado – Resident Permit ONLY
  6. Florida – Resident Permit ONLY
  7. Georgia
  8. Idaho
  9. Indiana
  10. Iowa
  11. Kansas – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
  12. Kentucky
  13. Louisiana
  14. Maine – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
  15. Michigan
  16. Mississippi – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
  17. Missouri – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
  18. Montana
  19. Nebraska
  20. Nevada
  21. New Hampshire – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
  22. New Mexico
  23. North Carolina
  24. North Dakota
  25. Ohio
  26. Oklahoma
  27. Pennsylvania – Resident Permit ONLY
  28. South Carolina – Resident Permit ONLY
  29. South Dakota
  30. Tennessee
  31. Texas
  32. Utah
  33. Vermont
  34. Virginia
  35. West Virginia – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
  36. Wisconsin
Wyoming Will Honor The Following States
  1. Alabama
  2. Alaska
  3. Arizona
  4. Arkansas
  5. Colorado
  6. Florida
  7. Georgia
  8. Idaho
  9. Indiana
  10. Iowa
  11. Kansas
  12. Kentucky
  13. Louisiana
  14. Maine
  15. Michigan
  16. Mississippi
  17. Missouri
  18. Montana
  19. Nebraska
  20. Nevada
  21. New Hampshire
  22. New Mexico
  23. North Carolina
  24. North Dakota – Class I and II ONLY
  25. Ohio
  26. Oklahoma
  27. Pennsylvania
  28. South Carolina
  29. South Dakota
  30. Tennessee
  31. Texas
  32. Utah
  33. Virginia
  34. West Virginia
  35. Wisconsin

How To Apply for a Wyoming Concealed Carry License

Can I get a concealed carry permit in Wyoming?

Wyoming is an unrestricted, or constitutional carry state. However, it is a shall issue state for the purposes of reciprocity. Wyoming views the individuals right to keep and bear arms as constitutionally protected, and therefore does not require residents to have a concealed carry permit. Those nonresidents whose states have a reciprocity agreement with the WY should still have their permits available to carry concealed.

The Wyoming legislature finds that the right to keep and bear arms is a fundamental right. The Wyoming legislature affirms this right as a constitutionally protected right in every part of Wyoming.

A person who wears or carries a concealed deadly weapon is guilty […] unless […] The person does not possess a permit issued under this section, but otherwise meets the requirements specified […]

The attorney general is authorized to issue permits to carry a concealed firearm to persons qualified […]

Relevant Code(s):

Section 6-8-401

Section 6-8-104

What is the minimum age to obtain a CCW license in WY?

The minimum age to obtain a Wyoming concealed carry permit is 21 years old. However, exceptions are made for those who are otherwise eligible, except for the age requirement. The sheriff has discretionary power to approve an application from an individual between 18-20 years old.

The sheriff of the applicant’s county of residence may, at his discretion, submit a written report to the division recommending the issuance of a concealed firearm permit to an applicant between eighteen (18) and twenty-one (21) years of age who meets the requirements […]

Relevant Code(s):

Section 6-8-104

Who issues a concealed carry permit in Wyoming?

The Attorney General of the state is the issuing authority for concealed carry permits. However, applicants should submit their application packet and proof of competency to the sheriff of their county of residence.

The attorney general is authorized to issue permits to carry a concealed firearm to persons qualified […]

The applicant shall submit to the division through the sheriff’s office in the county of the applicant’s residence

Relevant Code(s):

Section 6-8-104

How long is a Wyoming concealed carry permit good for?

Wyoming concealed carry permits are valid for a period of 5 years from the date of issuance.

Relevant Code(s):

Section 6-8-104

Does WY issue concealed permits to non-residents?

Wyoming does not issue nonresident permits. Additionally, any person who has not been a Wyoming resident for at least 6 months prior to submitting their application is ineligible to receive a concealed permit.

However, those with a valid permit from another issuing authority that both recognizes and accepts a WY concealed permit (reciprocity).

Is a resident of the United States and has been a resident of Wyoming for not less than six (6) months prior to filing the application.

Relevant Code(s):

Section 6-8-104

How long does it take to process a concealed carry application?

The state of Wyoming must issue or deny an application for a concealed permit within 60 days. Should the applicant be denied, they must be informed in writing and cause given for the denial.

Relevant Code(s):

Section 6-8-104

How much does a concealed carry permit cost?

An applicant must submit a nonrefundable $50 fee for the issuance of the initial permit to carry concealed. This fee does not cover the cost of any fingerprints that must be submitted. A portion of the fee ($10) will be retained by the sheriff’s department where the application is made. The remainder will be forwarded and used in the processing of the application.

Relevant Code(s):

Section 6-8-104

What are the accepted forms of competency training?

Wyoming does require applicants to prove competency with a firearm. Applicants can demonstrate this by completion of a firearms safety or training course listed below:

  • Class provided by NRA instructor or Wyoming law enforcement academy
  • Course offered to security guards, special deputies, or investigators

Additionally, military experience can be submitted in lieu of a formal training course. Furthermore, those with 10 years or more federal or state police experience who honorably retired may submit that experience instead of formal training.

Finally, nothing in WY code expressly requires any live fire exercise to prove familiarity with a firearm. While it may be required by the instructor, the actual firing of a firearm is not currently listed as a state requirement. Therefore, online only education should be sufficient to satisfy this application requirement.

Relevant Code(s):

Section 6-8-104

Restrictions on Carrying A Firearm in Wyoming

Is Wyoming an Open Carry State?

Wyoming is an open carry state. The fundamental right of an individual to keep and bear arms is protected, and thus why Wyoming is considered a constitutional carry state.

Relevant Code(s):

Section 6-8-401

Can I Conceal Carry in a Vehicle?

Any Wyoming resident who can legally possess a gun can carry it concealed within their vehicle. Those who have reciprocity agreements with the state may also carry concealed provided they also have their permit. Anyone carrying a firearm without a reciprocal concealed carry permit should carry the weapon openly when in a vehicle.

Relevant Code(s):

Section 6-8-104

Can I Conceal Carry in State Parks?

Nothing prohibits an individual legally allowed to possess a concealed firearm from doing so within state parks. I was unable to find any corresponding code, regulation, or rule within the Wyoming Game and Fish Department to the contrary.

Relevant Code(s):

N/A

Am I Allowed To Conceal Carry In Restaurants?

Wyoming law does not expressly prohibit a licensed person from carrying concealed into a restaurant. However, any portion of an establishment dedicated to on-site consumption is off limits. Any portion of a restaurant, bar, pub, etc. that derives more than 50% of sales from alcohol is to be avoided. Also, anyone carrying concealed should not consume alcohol.

“[…] Any portion of an establishment licensed to dispense alcoholic liquor and malt beverages for consumption on the premises, which portion of the establishment is primarily devoted to that purpose;”

Relevant Code(s):

Section 6-8-104

Can I Conceal Carry in a Church?

Nothing in Wyoming law expressly prohibits a person from carrying into a place of worship. Churches, synagogues, or any other similar facilities are not listed in the below section, where other forbidden places are addressed. Therefore, individuals who are able to carry concealed, can do so into a church. It is advised that you obey any posted signage, to avoid unnecessary conflict.

Relevant Code(s):

 Section 6-8-104

Can I Conceal Carry in a Bank?

Financial institutions are subject to the same rules as hospitals and churches. Nothing in Wyoming law prohibits an individual who can legally carry a concealed firearm from doing so into bank. It is recommended that any posted signage be obeyed regarding the open, or concealed, carrying of firearms onto any property.

Relevant Code(s):

Section 6-8-104

Can I Conceal Carry in a Hospital?

Wyoming does not expressly prohibit the carrying of concealed firearms into medical facilities. Therefore anyone legally allowed to carry concealed may do so into a hospital, doctors office, or other medical building provided it does not also serve as a form of detention facility. However, it is always recommended that you do not carry into any building with posted signage prohibiting firearms.

Relevant Code(s):

Section 6-8-104

The content of this page is for informational purposes. It is not intended as a substitute for legal council, or intended as legal advice. It is recommended that you inquire with the state about the validity of the information contained herein.