New York concealed carry laws are not overly clear. Despite the extensive restrictions, the code is not very elaborate. However, what is clear, is that New York is a may issue state. Applicants for a New York permit to carry should be 21 years old. If an applicant is under 21, they must have been honorably discharged from the armed services. Beyond that, different locales have different requirements, which includes any education components, and even where applications should be submitted. Furthermore, New York City has their own set of rules that do not govern the rest of the state, nor are state wide laws applicable within NYC. The cost for issuance of a NY state permit to carry concealed is $10. While NY does not accept any permit to CCW from another state, those with a NY state concealed carry permit can carry in 26 other states. It is highly recommended that you consult an expert before carrying within this state.
(To access any specific code, you’ll need to search the code number from the linked site)
This information was last updated in March 2019.
Table of Contents
New York Concealed Carry By The Numbers
Average Cost in Dollars
# of States That Accept NY License
# of Years Valid*
# of Days To Get A Permit
Reciprocity Map for New York
Use the tabs below to display states that will accept a New York concealed carry permit or those states that New York will honor. Click the sections below for a complete listing of states in each category, along with other relevant information.
States That Honor New York Concealed Carry
- Alaska – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
- Arizona – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
- Kansas – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
- Maine – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Does NOT honor state issued concealed carry permit.
- Mississippi – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
- Missouri – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
- New Hampshire – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Does NOT honor state issued concealed carry permit.
- North Carolina
- South Dakota
- West Virginia – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Does NOT honor state issued concealed carry permit.
New York Will Honor The Following States
How To Apply for a New York Concealed Carry License
Can I get a concealed carry permit in New York?
New York is a may issue state. Applicants for a concealed carry permit will need to show proper cause for the issuance of such permit.
“have and carry concealed, without regard to employment or place of possession, by any person when proper cause exists for the issuance thereof;“
“[…] Such license shall specify the weapon covered by
calibre, make, model, manufacturer’s name and serial number, or if none, by any other distinguishing number or identification mark, and shall indicate whether issued to carry on the person or possess on the premises, and if on the premises shall also specify the place where the licensee shall possess the same.“
What is the minimum age to obtain a CCW license in NY?
New York requires applicants for a license to carry be at least 21 years old. However, the code also excepts those who have served and were honorably discharged from the armed services. Therefore, it is possible to obtain a permit to carry if you are 18 years old.
“[…] twenty-one years of age or older, provided, however,
that where such applicant has been honorably discharged from the United States army, navy, marine corps, air force or coast guard, or the national guard of the state of New York, no such age restriction shall apply;“
Who issues a concealed carry permit in New York?
Applications for a permit to carry concealed will need to be submitted to different authorities, depending on place of residency. Generally, concealed carry permit applications should be submitted to the Police department of the city or county of residence. However, state code references several specific locales where the licensing officer may vary.
In Nassau, the issuing authority is the commissioner of police. However, in Suffolk county the sheriff is responsible, except in certain towns where submissions need to go to the commissioner of police.
“‘Licensing officer’ means in the city of New York the police
commissioner of that city; in the county of Nassau the commissioner of police of that county; in the county of Suffolk the sheriff of that county except in the towns of Babylon, Brookhaven, Huntington, Islip and Smithtown, the commissioner of police of that county; for the purposes of section 400.01 of this chapter the superintendent of state police; and elsewhere in the state a judge or justice of a court of record having his office in the county of issuance.“
“[…] licensing officer in the city or county, as the case may be, where the applicant resides […]“
How long is a New York concealed carry permit good for?
The minimum duration of validity for a New York concealed carry permit is 5 years. However, outside of NYC, Nassau county, Suffolk county, and Westchester county, a permit is valid until revoked, and the duration is indefinite.
“In the counties of Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester, any
license to carry or possess a pistol or revolver […] shall expire not more than five years after the date of issuance;“
“Elsewhere than in the city of New York and the counties of Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester, any license to carry or possess a pistol or revolver, issued at any time pursuant to this section […] and not previously revoked or cancelled, shall be in force and effect until revoked as herein provided.“
Does NY issue concealed permits to non-residents?
New York state does not generally offer nonresident permits. However, exceptions can be made at the discretion of the issuing authority for those employed within the state but residing in another state.
“If such license is issued to an alien, or to a person not a citizen of and usually a resident in the state, the licensing officer shall state in the license the particular reason for the issuance and the names of the persons certifying to the good character of the applicant.“
How long does it take to process a concealed carry application?
The prescribed timeline for the processing of a permit to carry is 6 months. Applicants should either be approved or denied in this amount of time, unless otherwise informed by the issuing authority that more time is needed.
“[…]the licensing officer shall act upon any application for a license pursuant to this section within six months of the date of presentment of such an application to the appropriate authority.“
How much does a concealed carry permit cost?
The maximum fee collected by the licensing officer for a permit to carry is $10. However, the actual fee will be set by the county, and may vary from $3 to $10.
“[…] licensing officer shall collect and pay into the county treasury the following fees: for each license to carry or possess a pistol or revolver, not less than three dollars nor more than ten dollars as may be determined by the legislative body of the county […]“
What are the accepted forms of competency training?
In many parts of New York, the completion of a firearms training is not a condition for issuance of a permit to carry. However, in Westchester County an applicant is required to prove firearms competency.
However, there is nothing to prescribe what constitutes adequate training, only that a certificate of completion be presented before the issuance of a carry permit in Westchester county. Therefore, online only courses should be sufficient to meet the county requirements for firearms training.
“[…] licensing officer shall require that the applicant submit a
certificate of successful completion of a firearms safety course and test issued in his or her name and endorsed and affirmed under the penalties of perjury by a duly authorized instructor.“
Restrictions on Carrying A Firearm in New York
Is New York an Open Carry State?
It is unclear whether New York permits open carry. However, in practice, New York is not an open carry state. Additionally, the state issues permits to carry, and while typically synonymous with concealed carry it does not permit or prohibit openly carrying a handgun. It is recommended that you refrain from open carrying a weapon to avoid unnecessary complications.
Can I Conceal Carry in a Vehicle?
Those with a valid New York concealed carry permit can carry a concealed firearm in their vehicle. Those without a permit cannot possess or transport a loaded firearm in their vehicle.
“A license to carry or possess a pistol or revolver, not
otherwise limited as to place or time of possession, shall be effective throughout the state, except that the same shall not be valid within the city of New York unless a special permit granting validity is issued by the police commissioner of that city.“
Additionally, the following language pertains to the transport of firearms through the city of New York:
“[…] the firearms covered by such license have been purchased from a licensed dealer within the city of New York and are being transported out of said city forthwith and immediately from said dealer by the licensee in a locked container during a continuous and uninterrupted trip; or provided that (b) the firearms covered by such license are being transported by
the licensee in a locked container and the trip through the city of New York is continuous and uninterrupted; […]“
Can I Conceal Carry in State Parks?
New York does not generally permit the carrying of handguns within state parks. Certain exceptions are made for those with security contracts, who also have a permit to carry issued under section 400.00.
“[…]no person, other than a member of a Federal, State or municipal law enforcement agency, shall introduce or possess, either upon the person or within a vehicle, or use any firearm or any instrument or weapon the propelling force of which is a spring, rubber or air or any ammunition or propellant therefor, or a bow and arrow, except for hunting where per-mitted by a rule or regulation of a regional park, recreation and historic preservation commission or pursuant to a permit issued according to the provisions of section 376.1“
Am I Allowed To Conceal Carry In Restaurants?
I recommend extreme caution when carrying into an establishment that serves alcohol in New York. However, nothing in NY law prohibits a licensed individual from carrying into a restaurant. As with banks, hospitals, and places of worship, any licensee is subject to any restrictions placed on the permit by the issuing authority.
Can I Conceal Carry in a Church?
New York has the authority to prescribe when and where a permit to carry is valid for. While nothing expressly forbids a licensed individual from carrying into a church or other place of worship it is not advised.
Can I Conceal Carry in a Bank?
New York code does not expressly forbid an individual with a permit to carry from carrying into a bank. However, they are still subject to any restrictions placed upon the license by the issuing authority. It is recommended that you do not carry into any bank or financial institution for this reason.
Can I Conceal Carry in a Hospital?
New York does not expressly forbid a licensed individual from carrying concealed into a hospital. However, upon issuance of a permit to carry, the licensee is subject to any provisions, limitations, or restrictions placed by the issuing authority. It is highly recommended that you do not carry into a hospital or other medical facility for this reason.
The content of this page is for informational purposes. It is not intended as a substitute for legal council, or intended as legal advice. It is recommended that you inquire with the state about the validity of the information contained herein.