Vermont has some of the most permissive firearms laws, particularly when it comes to concealed carry. The state is considered a constitutional carry, or unrestricted carry state. Any individual who is permitted to possess a firearm can carry it openly or concealed without a permit. Vermont requires anyone possessing a handgun to be 16 years old, or have parental consent. Unlike other states, Vermont concealed carry permits are not issued at all. Therefore, residents of the state will need to apply to another state for a nonresident permit for reciprocity with other states. Vermont residents who do not apply for a nonresident permit in another state can carry in 9 other states so long as they meet age requirements of that state and possess their Vermont issued ID.
This information was last updated in March 2019.
Table of Contents
Vermont Concealed Carry By The Numbers
Average Cost in Dollars*
# of States That Accept VT License*
# of Years Valid*
# of Days To Get A Permit*
Reciprocity Map for Vermont
Use the tabs below to display states that will accept a Vermont concealed carry permit or those states that Vermont will honor. Click the sections below for a complete listing of states in each category, along with other relevant information.
States That Honor Vermont Concealed Carry
- Alaska – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required.
- Arizona – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required.
- Kansas – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required.
- Maine – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required.
- Mississippi – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required.
- Missouri – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required.
- New Hampshire – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required.
- Oklahoma – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required.
- West Virginia – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required.
Vermont Will Honor The Following States
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
Anyone over 16 years of age, legally allowed to posses a handgun can carry it concealed in Vermont.
How To Apply for a Vermont Concealed Carry License
Can I get a concealed carry permit in Vermont?
Vermont is a constitutional carry state. Therefore, no permit or license is required for residents to openly carry or concealed carry in the state.
Furthermore, unlike other constitutional carry states, Vermont does not issue concealed carry permits for the purposes of state reciprocity. In order for Vermont residents to obtain a concealed permit for use in other states, they will need to apply for a nonresident permit from a state that issues them.
“A person who carries a dangerous or deadly weapon, openly or concealed, with the intent or avowed purpose of injuring a fellow man […] shall be imprisoned not more than two years or fined not more than $ 200.00, or both.“
What is the minimum age to obtain a CCW license in VT?
Since Vermont does not issue concealed carry licenses, the minimum age to carry a firearm is 16. However, those with parental consent, can carry if less than 16 years old.
“A child under the age of 16 years shall not, without the consent of his or her parents or guardian, have in his or her possession or control a pistol or revolver constructed or designed for the use of gunpowder or other explosive substance with leaden ball or shot […]“
Who issues a concealed carry permit in Vermont?
Vermont does not issue concealed carry permits. Therefore, applicants for a concealed carry permit must submit to another state that offers a nonresident permit.
How long is a Vermont concealed carry permit good for?
Vermont does not issue a permit to CCW. Residents of the state are subject to the expiration of the state from which they obtain a nonresident concealed carry permit.
Does VT issue concealed permits to non-residents?
Because Vermont does not issue resident concealed carry permits, they subsequently do not offer nonresident permits.
How long does it take to process a concealed carry application?
Residents for a concealed carry in Vermont are subject to the processing time for nonresident permits from the state in which they apply.
How much does a concealed carry permit cost?
Vermont residents will need to pay any applicable fees associated with nonresident permits for the state in which they apply. However, there is no cost associated with carrying concealed handguns in Vermont.
What are the accepted forms of competency training?
Vermont does not require those who choose to carry a concealed handgun to complete any form of competency training. Those individuals need only be eligible to legally possess a firearm.
For a listing of the codes that would prevent a person from possessing a firearm, view the below code.
Restrictions on Carrying A Firearm in Vermont
Is Vermont an Open Carry State?
Vermont is an open carry state. Those who are eligible to possess a firearm are permitted to carry it concealed or openly.
Can I Conceal Carry in a Vehicle?
Carrying a concealed handgun in a vehicle is unrestricted. Anyone legally allowed to possess a handgun can carry it openly or concealed and loaded.
Can I Conceal Carry in State Parks?
Similar to other states, Vermont prohibits the discharge of firearms within state parks, except under special permit. However, nothing prohibits an individual from carrying a concealed handgun within state parks.
Am I Allowed To Conceal Carry In Restaurants?
Vermont laws regarding the carrying of firearms are some of the most permissive in the country. Therefore, individuals who can legally carry a concealed firearm are permitted to carry into a restaurant. Furthermore, there are no qualifying factors regarding alcohol sales, with respect to where someone can carry a concealed handgun.
Can I Conceal Carry in a Church?
Nothing in Vermont code prohibits someone permitted to carry a handgun from doing so concealed and within a place of worship. Therefore, it is legal for a qualified individual to possess a concealed handgun in a church.
Can I Conceal Carry in a Bank?
Vermont does not expressly forbid carrying a concealed handgun into any financial institution. As such, any individual legally allowed to possess a concealed handgun is permitted to do so within a bank.
Can I Conceal Carry in a Hospital?
Hospitals are not areas where concealed carry is prohibited by Vermont state law. Any individual who is legally allowed to carry a concealed handgun can carry concealed within a hospital. Furthermore, there is nothing in state code that prohibits the carrying of concealed handguns into doctor offices, or any other medical facility.
The content of this page is for informational purposes. It is not intended as a substitute for legal council, or intended as legal advice. It is recommended that you inquire with the state about the validity of the information contained herein.