Nevada is a shall issue state. In order to obtain a Nevada concealed carry permit, an applicant must be 21 years old or at least 18 with honorable military service. The state issues both resident and nonresident permits. Residents should submit their application to the sheriff of the county in which they reside. However, nonresidents can apply with any sheriff of the state. As part of the application, those seeking a Nevada concealed permit must prove firearm competency that is approved by the state or by the sheriff of the county. The fees charged by the sheriff will not exceed $60, but additional fees may be incurred as part of the request to the FBI and other governmental agencies. Once issued, a permit to carry concealed is valid for 5 years from the date of issuance. Those with a Nevada permit can carry in 32 other states.
This information was last updated in February 2019.
Average Cost in Dollars*
# of States That Accept NV License
# of Years Valid
# of Days To Get A Permit
Reciprocity Map for Nevada
Use the tabs below to display states that will accept a Nevada concealed carry permit or those states that Nevada will honor. Click the sections below for a complete listing of states in each category, along with other relevant information.
States That Honor Nevada Concealed Carry
- Alaska – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
- Arizona – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
- Florida – Resident Permit ONLY
- Kansas – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
- Maine – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Does NOT honor state issued concealed carry permit.
- Mississippi – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
- Missouri – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
- New Hampshire – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Does NOT honor state issued concealed carry permit.
- New Mexico
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
Nevada Will Honor The Following States
- Idaho – Enhanced ONLY
- Mississippi – Enhanced ONLY
- New Mexico
- North Carolina
- North Dakota – Class 1 & 2
- South Carolina
- South Dakota – Enhanced Only
- West Virginia
How To Apply for a Nevada Concealed Carry License
Can I get a concealed carry permit in Nevada?
Nevada is a shall issue state. Applicants for a Nevada concealed carry permit must meet a predetermined set of requirements.
“[…] sheriff shall issue a permit to any person who is qualified to possess a handgun under state and federal law, who submits an application in accordance with the provisions of this section […]“
What is the minimum age to obtain a CCW license in NV?
Nevada requires applicants for a concealed permit to be 21 years old. However, the state does have an avenue for younger members of the military to obtain a permit. Applicants must be at least 18 and less than 21. In order to obtain a concealed permit, applicants must be serving or have been honorably discharged.
Who issues a concealed carry permit in Nevada?
Applicants for a Nevada concealed carry permit should apply with the sheriff of the county in which they reside. However, for nonresidents, applications can be made with any sheriff of the state.
How long is a Nevada concealed carry permit good for?
Nevada concealed carry permits are valid for 5 years from the date of issuance.
Does NV issue concealed permits to non-residents?
Nevada does issue nonresident concealed carry permits. Applicants for a nonresident permit must meet the same qualifications are resident applicants. However, nonresidents can submit their application to any sheriff of the state.
“Any person who is not a resident of this State may apply to the sheriff of any county in this State for a permit […]“
How long does it take to process a concealed carry application?
Applicants for a Nevada concealed permit must be approved or denied within 120 days of a complete submitted application.
“Within 120 days after a complete application for a permit is submitted, the sheriff to whom the application is submitted shall grant or deny the application“
How much does a concealed carry permit cost?
The cost for an initial permit issued by Nevada is $60 which is nonrefundable. Additionally, another fee may be charged to process the request to the FBI and Nevada records division, but no actual cost is specified.
“A nonrefundable fee equal to the nonvolunteer rate charged by the Central Repository for Nevada Records of Criminal History and the Federal Bureau of Investigation to obtain the reports required […] A nonrefundable fee set by the sheriff not to exceed $60.“
What are the accepted forms of competency training?
Nevada does require proof of firearm safety training and competence. It is unclear from the code whether any live fire or physical handling of handguns are necessary. Therefore, online courses should be sufficient if they are accepted by the issuing authority.
“Such a course must include instruction in the use of handguns and in the laws of this State relating to the use of a firearm. A sheriff may not approve a course in firearm safety pursuant to subparagraph (1) unless the sheriff determines that the course meets any standards that are established by the Nevada Sheriffs’ and Chiefs’ Association […]“
Restrictions on Carrying A Firearm in Nevada
Is Nevada an Open Carry State?
While I was unable to find a corresponding code, it is generally accepted that open carry is permitted in the state without a permit. Nevada code only requires a permit to carry a concealed handgun, and does not expressly forbid open carrying of a firearm.
“‘Concealed firearm’ means a loaded or unloaded handgun which is carried upon a person in such a manner as not to be discernible by ordinary observation.“
Can I Conceal Carry in a Vehicle?
Individuals with a Nevada concealed carry permit can do so within a vehicle. However, those without are not permitted to carry concealed within their car. In addition, those without a permit must carry somewhere other than on their person, and in plain view, lest it be considered concealed.
Can I Conceal Carry in State Parks?
No documentation was found regarding concealed carry in state parks within the Department of Natural resources administrative codes. Therefore, it is legal to carry a concealed firearm in state parks by licensed individuals.
Am I Allowed To Conceal Carry In Restaurants?
Being under the influence of alcohol while carrying a concealed handgun is expressly forbidden. In addition, nothing in the Nevada code prevents a licensed individual from carrying into a restaurant or other establishment serving alcohol on premises. However, any posted signage on a restaurant or bar should be adhered to.
Can I Conceal Carry in a Church?
Nothing in Nevada code expressly forbids the carrying of concealed firearms into a church. Therefore, it is legal for a licensed individual to carry a concealed handgun into a church or other place of worship.
However, any posted signage should be obeyed and you should not carry into an establishment that has signs prohibiting firearms.
Can I Conceal Carry in a Bank?
Individuals with a Nevada concealed carry permit can carry a concealed firearm within a bank or other financial institution. However, Nevada state code also states the following:
“[…]A public building that has a metal detector at each public entrance or a sign posted at each public entrance indicating that no firearms are allowed in the building […]”
Therefore, if a bank or other financial institution has metal detectors you should not enter with your firearm even if you are licensed. Additionally, Nevada code indicates that any posted signage must also be obeyed.
Can I Conceal Carry in a Hospital?
Nothing in the Nevada code expressly prohibits carrying concealed firearms into a hospital. Therefore, holders of a Nevada concealed permit are allowed to carry into hospitals and other medical facilities.
The content of this page is for informational purposes. It is not intended as a substitute for legal council, or intended as legal advice. It is recommended that you inquire with the state about the validity of the information contained herein.