Nebraska is a shall issue state, but requires applicants be at least 21 years old. In addition to other requirements, Nebraska requires that applicants have correctable vision. Furthermore, to obtain an Nebraska concealed carry permit, applicants must show firearms handling and safety competency. Residents should be submit their application to the Nebraska state patrol. Nebraska does not offer permits to nonresidents. A fee of $100 is required for initial permit issuance. Once approved, a Nebraska concealed permit is valid for 5 years from the date of issuance. The state does not offer reciprocity to all states, but does have agreements with 37 other states and D.C. However, a permit holder from Nebraska can carry concealed in 33 other states.
This information was last updated in February 2019.
Average Cost in Dollars
# of States That Accept NE License
# of Years Valid
# of Days To Get A Permit
Reciprocity Map for Nebraska
Use the tabs below to display states that will accept a Nebraska concealed carry permit or those states that Nebraska will honor. Click the sections below for a complete listing of states in each category, along with other relevant information.
States That Honor Nebraska Concealed Carry
- Alaska – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
- Arizona – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
- Colorado – Resident Permit ONLY
- Florida – Resident Permit ONLY
- Kansas – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
- Maine – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
- Mississippi – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
- Missouri – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
- New Hampshire – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Does NOT honors state issued concealed carry permit.
- New Mexico
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
Nebraska Will Honor The Following States
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
Nebraska also recognizes permits issued by the District of Columbia (D.C.)
How To Apply for a Nebraska Concealed Carry License
Can I get a concealed carry permit in Nebraska?
Nebraska is a shall issue state. The statutes in Nebraska code from 69-2427 to 69-2449 is known as the Concealed Handgun Permit Act. Any resident who meets the minimum qualifications is eligible to receive a Nebraska concealed carry permit.
Disqualifying criteria include, but are not limited to:
- Visually impaired and unable to correct with glasses, contact lenses, or other means
- Convicted of a felony (in any state)
- Conviction of a crime concerning weapons or controlled substances
What is the minimum age to obtain a CCW license in NE?
Residents of Nebraska must be 21 years old to be eligible for a concealed permit.
Who issues a concealed carry permit in Nebraska?
Applicants for a concealed license should submit their paperwork to the Nebraska State Patrol Troop Headquarters or office. It is worth noting that the application must be delivered in person, and not submitted electronically. Paperwork must be accompanied by another form of identification, such as a state issued drivers license, other stat issued ID, or a military ID.
How long is a Nebraska concealed carry permit good for?
Nebraska concealed carry permits are valid for 5 years from the date of issuance.
Does NE issue concealed permits to non-residents?
Nebraska does not issue concealed permits to nonresidents. In addition, only residents who have resided in the state for 6 months are eligible for a concealed permit.
“Have been a resident of this state for at least one hundred eighty days. For purposes of this section, resident does not include an applicant who maintains a residence in another state […]“
How long does it take to process a concealed carry application?
Nebraska concealed permits must be issued within 45 days of application receipt. No further information is provided as to whether the individual will have all rights of a concealed permit holder in the event a license is not issued. I was unable to find any means of recourse except for when a permit is denied.
“[…] the permit to carry a concealed handgun shall be issued by the Nebraska State Patrol within forty-five days after the date an application for the permit [..]“
How much does a concealed carry permit cost?
The fee for the initial issuance of a concealed permit is $100. Submission of this fee will be to the Nebraska state patrol who will remit it unto the state treasurer.
What are the accepted forms of competency training?
Nebraska does require some for of competency or safety training to be eligible for a concealed permit. It is unclear whether or not online courses are sufficient. However, the following criteria must be met at a minimum.
- Knowledge and safe handling of a handgun;
- Knowledge and safe handling of handgun ammunition;
- Safe handgun shooting fundamentals;
- Demonstration of competency with a handgun
- Knowledge of laws at various governmental levels pertaining to the purchase, ownership, transportation, and possession of handguns
- Use of a handgun for self-defense and relevant laws
- Avoiding criminal attack and de-escalating violent situations
- Proper storage of firearms and ammunition
Restrictions on Carrying A Firearm in Nebraska
Is Nebraska an Open Carry State?
Nebraska is accepting of open carry, but local regulations may prohibit open carry in certain locales. For instance, Omaha requires a permit in order to carry a firearm openly.
Can I Conceal Carry in a Vehicle?
Nebraska does allow for licensed individuals to carry a handgun in their vehicle. However, it is unclear whether this applies to those without a Nebraska concealed carry permit. The below excerpt indicates that individuals without a concealed permit must secure the firearm inside a locked compartment.
“A permitholder carrying a concealed handgun in a vehicle or on his or her person while riding in or on a vehicle into or onto any parking area, which is open to the public, used by any location listed in subdivision (1)(a) of this section, does not violate this section if, prior to exiting the vehicle, the handgun is locked inside the glove box, trunk, or other compartment of the vehicle, a storage box securely attached to the vehicle, or, if the vehicle is a motorcycle, other than an autocycle, a hardened compartment securely attached to the motorcycle.“
Can I Conceal Carry in State Parks?
I was unable to find anything on the Nebraska Department of Natural resources site, or within the Nebraska code prohibiting a licensed individual from carrying concealed within a state park. Therefore, licensed individuals are permitted to carry concealed within state parks.
Am I Allowed To Conceal Carry In Restaurants?
Nebraska does not expressly forbid carrying in a restaurant, but does forbid carrying into establishment whose primary income is from the sale of alcohol on premises.
“[…]establishment having a license issued under the Nebraska Liquor Control Act that derives over one-half of its total income from the sale of alcoholic liquor […]”
Can I Conceal Carry in a Church?
Without the consent of the governing body, it is illegal to carry a concealed firearm into a place of worship. However, consent must be accompanied by a notice to the congregation in order to conceal carry in a church or any other place of worship.
“A place of worship may authorize its security personnel to carry concealed handguns on its property so long as each member of the security personnel, as authorized, is in compliance with the Concealed Handgun Permit Act and possesses a permit to carry a concealed handgun issued pursuant to the act and written notice is given to the congregation and, if the property is leased, the carrying of concealed handguns on the property does not violate the terms of any real property lease agreement between the place of worship and the lessor.”
Can I Conceal Carry in a Bank?
Financial institutions are areas where permit holders are expressly forbidden from carrying a concealed firearm. However, provisions are made for security personnel, so long as they are properly licensed to do so.
“A financial institution may authorize its security personnel to carry concealed handguns in the financial institution while on duty so long as each member of the security personnel, as authorized, is in compliance with the Concealed Handgun Permit Act and possesses a permit to carry a concealed handgun issued pursuant to the act.”
Can I Conceal Carry in a Hospital?
Concealed carry in hospitals are expressly forbidden by Nebraska. Additionally, emergency rooms and trauma centers are prohibited areas for those carrying a concealed firearm. However, other medical facilities are not addressed in Nebraska code.
The content of this page is for informational purposes. It is not intended as a substitute for legal council, or intended as legal advice. It is recommended that you inquire with the state about the validity of the information contained herein.