Mississippi is a shall issue state for the purposes of reciprocity. Anyone who can legally possess a firearm can carry it concealed. There are two types of Mississippi permits, a regular and enhanced. Certain states only honor the enhanced version of the Mississippi concealed carry permit. To obtain either permit type, an applicant must be at least 21 years old. Applications should be submitted to the issuing authority, which is the Department of Public Safety. No competency training is required for a regular license, but in order to obtain an enhanced there is an education component. An initial license will cost $80 and is valid for 5 years from the date of issuance. While the state honors any other concealed carry permit or license, those holding a Mississippi permit can only carry in up to 35 other states.
This information was last updated in February 2019.
Average Cost in Dollars
# of States That Accept MS License
# of Years Valid
# of Days To Get A Permit*
Reciprocity Map for MIssissippi
Use the tabs below to display states that will accept a Mississippi concealed carry permit or those states that Mississippi will honor. Click the sections below for a complete listing of states in each category, along with other relevant information.
States That Honor Mississippi Concealed Carry
- Alaska – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
- Arizona – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
- Colorado – Resident Permit ONLY
- Florida – Resident Permit ONLY
- Kansas – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
- Missouri – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
- Nevada – Enhanced ONLY
- New Hampshire – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
- New Mexico
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Pennsylvania – Resident Permit ONLY
- South Carolina – Enhanced ONLY
- South Dakota
- West Virginia – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
Mississippi Will Honor The Following States
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
Under Mississippi state code 45-9-101 all valid out of state concealed carry permits are recognized.
How To Apply for a Mississippi Concealed Carry License
Can I get a concealed carry permit in Mississippi?
Mississipi is a shall issue state. So long as an applicant meets the minimum requirements, they will be issued a permit to carry a concealed stun gun, concealed pistol, or concealed revolver.
Furthermore, Mississippi offers and enhanced carry permit, available to individuals who elect to complete the required training. In order to qualify for this type of license, an individual must meet one of the following requirements:
- “has voluntarily completed an instructional course in the safe handling and use of firearms offered by an instructor certified by a nationally recognized organization that customarily offers firearms training, or by any other organization approved by the Department of Public Safety“
- “is a member or veteran of any active or reserve component branch of the United States of America Armed Forces having completed law enforcement or combat training with pistols or other handguns as recognized by such branch after submitting an affidavit attesting to have read, understand and agree to comply with all provisions of the enhanced carry law“
- “is an honorably retired law enforcement officer or honorably retired member or veteran of any active or reserve component branch of the United States of America Armed Forces having completed law enforcement or combat training with pistols or other handguns, after submitting an affidavit attesting to have read, understand and agree to comply with all provisions of Mississippi enhanced carry law“
What is the minimum age to obtain a CCW license in MS?
In order to obtain a concealed permit, applicants must be at least 21 years old. However, individuals who are 18-20 years old can also obtain a concealed permit if the following conditions are met:
“Is a member or veteran of the United States Armed Forces, including National Guard or Reserve; and Holds a valid Mississippi driver’s license or identification card issued by the Department of Public Safety“
Who issues a concealed carry permit in Mississippi?
The Department of Public Safety is the issuing authority for a Mississippi concealed permit, and applications should be submitted to the same. Additionally, the DPS may forward a copy of the application to the local authorities and at their discretion the authorities may participate in the process for issuing a concealed permit.
“[…] forward a copy of the applicant’s application to the sheriff of the applicant’s county of residence and, if applicable, the police chief of the applicant’s municipality of residence. […] at his discretion, participate in the process by submitting a voluntary report to the Department of Public Safety containing any readily discoverable prior information that he feels may be pertinent to the licensing of any applicant.“
How long is a Mississipi concealed carry permit good for?
Mississippi concealed carry permits are valid for a period of 5 years from the date of issuance.
Does MS issue concealed permits to non-residents?
Nonresidents are not eligible for a Mississippi concealed permit. However, the code does make exception for the following scenario:
“However, this residency requirement may be waived if the applicant possesses a valid permit from another state, is active military personnel stationed in Mississippi, or is a retired law enforcement officer establishing residency in the state“
However, for all intents and purposes, the state will not issue a concealed carry permit to a nonresident.
How long does it take to process a concealed carry application?
The annotated state code requires that The Department of Public Safety (DPS)will issue or deny a permit within 45 days. If in the event, a determination cannot be made, the DPS must provide an estimate of when the applicant can expect to be issued or denied a permit to carry concealed.
“Notify the applicant that the department is unable to make a determination regarding the issuance or denial of a license within the forty-five-day period […] and provide an estimate of the amount of time the department will need to make the determination.“
How much does a concealed carry permit cost?
At the time of application, a non-refundable fee of $80 shall be paid for an initial license. It is worth noting that the fee does not cover the cost of fingerprinting required for application. Furthermore, the following individuals are exempt from the payment of the licensing fee:
“Honorably retired law enforcement officers, disabled veterans and active duty members of the Armed Forces of the United States[…]“
What are the accepted forms of competency training?
The state code does not require proof of competency or firearm safety training to be eligible for the issuance of a Mississippi concealed carry permit.
However, in order to be part of the security for a church or place of worship, some training requirements exist. (See below section)
The state also issues an enhanced concealed carry permit. This permit allows the holder to carry in otherwise restricted areas for those with a regular concealed carry permit. Additional training is required to receive a Mississippi enhanced permit.
Restrictions on Carrying A Firearm in Mississippi
Is Mississipi an Open Carry State?
Mississippi is an open carry state. Residents do not need a permit to carry concealed or openly within the state. However, the pistol or revolver must be secured in the following way:
“[…] a loaded or unloaded pistol or revolver to be carried upon the person in a sheath, belt holster or shoulder holster or in a purse, handbag, satchel, other similar bag or briefcase […]“
Can I Conceal Carry in a Vehicle?
Concealed carry in a vehicle is permitted by individuals over the age of 18. A vehicle is not listed as a restricted area, and vehicle carry is addressed in the following excerpt from the state:
“It shall not be a violation of this section for any person over the age of eighteen (18) years to carry a firearm or deadly weapon concealed within the confines of his own home or his place of business, or any real property associated with his home or business or within any motor vehicle.“
Can I Conceal Carry in State Parks?
According to state code, carrying a concealed weapon is permitted within state parks. Furthermore, I was unable to find any evidence to the contrary within the Mississippi Department of Natural resources documentation.
Am I Allowed To Conceal Carry In Restaurants?
It is legal to conceal carry in a restaurant in Mississippi. However the law is very clear about certain types of establishments where you cannot carry a concealed firearm, namely a bar.
[…] any portion of an establishment, licensed to dispense alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises, that is primarily devoted to dispensing alcoholic beverages; any portion of an establishment in which beer or light wine is consumed on the premises, that is primarily devoted to such purpose;”
Can I Conceal Carry in a Church?
The carrying of firearm is illegal in churches or other places of worship. However, this does not prohibit the church or place of worship from establishing a security force in order to provide protection to the congregation.
However, any member of the security force must:
“possesses a firearms permit issued under Section 45-9-101 and has completed an instructional course in the safe handling and use of firearms“
Furthermore, the church or place of worship must keep a record of individuals permitted to carry on the grounds. This list must be made available to law enforcement upon inquiry of such document.
“The names of the members designated by the church or place of worship to serve in the security program must be spread upon the minutes of the body or otherwise noted in writing at the time of the member’s designation if the body does not maintain minutes, and this written record must be made available to law enforcement upon request during the course of investigation after an incident in which the member used a firearm while acting as a member of the security program“
Can I Conceal Carry in a Bank?
Nothing in the Mississippi state code prohibits the carrying of firearms into banks or other financial institutions. While not expressly addressed in Mississippi code, bank patrons should respect any posted signage per the below excerpt.
“[…] the carrying of a stun gun, concealed pistol or revolver may be disallowed in any place in the discretion of the person or entity exercising control over the physical location of such place by the placing of a written notice clearly readable at a distance of not less than ten (10) feet that the carrying of a pistol or revolver is prohibited.’“
Can I Conceal Carry in a Hospital?
Similar to the rules governing banks, Mississippi does not forbid the carrying of a concealed handgun in hospitals. However, any building designated as a place where “a pistol or revolver is prohibited” with appropriate signage should be respected.
The content of this page is for informational purposes. It is not intended as a substitute for legal council, or intended as legal advice. It is recommended that you inquire with the state about the validity of the information contained herein.