Massachusetts is a may issue state, and requires applicants to be 21 years old. In order to be eligible for a Massachusetts license to carry you must “have good reason to fear injury to the applicant or the applicant’s property or for any other reason.” The state has 2 different types of licenses to carry, Class A and Class B. However, only a Class A license allows for concealed carry of firearms. Massachusetts offers both resident and nonresident permits. Residents of the state should contact the police chief of your residence or the colonel of state police. Nonresidents should contact the Firearms Records Bureau. The cost for a Mass. license to carry is $100. Upon issuance, the license is valid for 6 years. Holders of a Class A license to carry, can carry concealed in 27 other states.
This information was last updated in February 2019.
Table of Contents
Massachusetts Concealed Carry By The Numbers
Average Cost in Dollars
# of States That Accept MA License
# of Years Valid
# of Days To Get A Permit
Reciprocity Map for Massachusetts
Use the tabs below to display states that will accept an Massachusetts concealed carry permit or those states that Massachusetts will honor. Click the sections below for a complete listing of states in each category, along with other relevant information.
States That Honor Massachusetts Concealed Carry
- Alaska – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
- Arizona – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
- Kansas – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
- Maine – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Does NOT honor state issued concealed carry permit.
- Mississippi – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
- Missouri – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
- New Hampshire – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Does NOT honor state issued concealed carry permit.
- North Carolina
- South Dakota
- West Virginia – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Does NOT honor state issued concealed carry permit.
- Wisconsin – Class A Permit ONLY
Massachusetts Will Honor The Following States
Massachusetts does not recognize a permit to carry concealed from any other state.
How To Apply for a Massachusetts Concealed Carry License
Can I get a concealed carry permit in Massachusetts?
Massachusetts is a may issue state. The state offers two different types of “License to Carry” permits, Class A and Class B. For the purposes of concealed carry, only a Class A license is sufficient. Due to the nature of Mass. gun laws, the Class B license is needed for owning, purchasing, transferring, and/or possessing non-large capacity firearms.
“[…]a Class B license shall not entitle the holder thereof to carry or possess a loaded firearm in a concealed manner in any public way or place[…]“
Furthermore, the may issue status is declared in the following excerpt. Similar to other may issue states, Massachusetts requires that applicants justify their need to conceal carry a firearm.
“[…]to be issued a license and has good reason to fear injury to the applicant or the applicant’s property or for any other reason[…]“
What is the minimum age to obtain a CCW license in MA?
Massachusetts requires any applicant to be at least 21 years old to apply for a license to carry at the time of application.
Who issues a concealed carry permit in Massachusetts?
I was unable to find a distinction of who the “issuing authority” is within the Massachusetts state code. However, other independent research indicates that applications should be made to the chief of police (of residence) or “colonel of state police.”
How long is an Massachusetts concealed carry permit good for?
A Massachusetts license to carry is valid for a period of 6 years. Below is the exact verbiage declaring when a permit expires:
“A license to carry or possess firearms shall be valid, unless revoked or suspended, for a period of not more than 6 years from the date of issue and shall expire on the anniversary of the licensee’s date of birth occurring not less than 5 years nor more than 6 years from the date of issue[…]“
Does MA issue concealed permits to non-residents?
Massachusetts has provisions for providing nonresidents with a means to obtain a license to carry. However, certain nonresidents are not eligible for this temporary license, and you should consult the below code for clarification. Such a license, if issued, will be valid for 1 year and may be renewed.
Nonresidents should apply with the Firearms Records Bureau at (617) 660-4782.
How long does it take to process a concealed carry application?
The issuing authority in Massachusetts must issue or deny an application for a license to carry within 40 days of receiving a completed application. Within 7 days of receiving an application, a copy must be sent to the colonel of state police. The color of state police will have 30 days to advise the licensing authority of any disqualifying record.
“The licensing authority shall, within 40 days from the date of application, either approve the application and issue the license or deny the application and notify the applicant of the reason for such denial in writing[…]“
How much does a concealed carry permit cost?
The fee for obtaining a Massachusetts license to carry is $100. However, this fee does not apply to applicants over the age of 70 or certain law enforcement individuals.
What are the accepted forms of competency training?
Massachusetts will not process any application for a license to carry without evidence of basic firearm safety certification. A hunter education course is suitable for meeting this qualification. It is unclear whether online only courses are acceptable under Massachusetts code. However the following excerpt describes what is considered sufficient training. Note that this does not explicitly require live-fire training.
“[…]the safe use, handling and storage of firearms; (b) methods for securing and childproofing firearms; (c) the applicable laws relating to the possession, transportation and storage of firearms; and (d) knowledge of operation, potential dangers and basic competency in the ownership and usage of firearms.“
Attached are a listing of approved courses that meet the basic firearm safety regulations.
Restrictions on Carrying A Firearm in Massachusetts
Is Massachusetts an Open Carry State?
Massachusetts is an open carry state. However, in order openly carry a firearm, the individual must have the proper license to carry.
Can I Conceal Carry in a Vehicle?
Individuals with a Class A license, are permitted to carry a loaded concealed firearm in a vehicle. However, it’s worth noting the restrictions placed on concealed carry in a vehicle.
“No person carrying a loaded firearm under a Class A license issued under section 131 or 131F shall carry the same in a vehicle unless such firearm while carried therein is under the direct control of such person[…]“
Furthermore, persons with a Class B license are only permitted to carry a weapon in a vehicle while it is unloaded. Additionally the firearm cannot be readily accessible, per the following excerpt from Massachusetts code:
“[…]shall possess the same in a vehicle unless such weapon is unloaded and contained within the locked trunk of such vehicle or in a locked case or other secure container.“
Can I Conceal Carry in State Parks?
According to the Massachusetts DNR, persons with proper license to carry are allowed to carry concealed within state parks.
“No person shall have possession of or discharge any firearm or pellet gun in violation of the laws and regulations of the Commonwealth.“
Am I Allowed To Conceal Carry In Restaurants?
It is illegal to be in possession of a firearm while under the influence of alcohol or other drugs. However, Massachusetts code does not prohibit carrying in establishments that serve alcohol, whether or not it is the primary source of income for the establishment.
Can I Conceal Carry in a Church?
Properly licensed indviduals are permitted to carry in churches or other places of worship. Nothing in Massachusetts code lists synagogues, churches, or other places of worship as areas where a license to carry does not apply.
Can I Conceal Carry in a Bank?
Individuals with a license to carry are permitted to carry in banks or other financial institutions. Nothing in Massachusetts state code prevents the carrying of firearms
Can I Conceal Carry in a Hospital?
It is legal for a licensed individual to carry a weapon into a hospital or other medical facility.
The content of this page is for informational purposes. It is not intended as a substitute for legal council, or intended as legal advice. It is recommended that you inquire with the state about the validity of the information contained herein.