Applicants for a Louisiana concealed carry permit must be 21 years old. Individuals can apply for a state or county license. The county license is only valid in the municipality where it was issued unless otherwise honored by another county. The state level concealed permit is accepted state wide. In order to apply for a state permit, applications should be sent to the deputy secretary of public safety services of the Department of Public Safety and Corrections. While typically valid for 5 years, smaller increments are available upon request. Anyone eligible to receive a 5 year concealed permit is also valid for a lifetime permit. However, competency must be proven every 5 years. The cost for a Louisiana concealed carry permit will vary depending on duration and type. Non-resident permits are not issued by the state. A holder of a Louisiana permit can carry in 37 other states.
This information was last updated in January 2019.
Average Cost in Dollars*
# of States That Accept LA License
# of Years Valid*
# of Days To Get A Permit*
Reciprocity Map for Louisiana
Use the tabs below to display states that will accept a Louisiana concealed carry permit or those states that Louisiana will honor. Click the sections below for a complete listing of states in each category, along with other relevant information.
States That Honor Louisiana Concealed Carry
- Alaska – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
- Arizona – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
- Colorado – Resident Permit ONLY
- Florida – Resident Permit ONLY
- Kansas – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
- Mississippi – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
- Missouri – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
- New Hampshire – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
- New Mexico
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Pennsylvania – Resident Permit ONLY
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
Louisiana Will Honor The Following States
- New Hampshire
- New Mexico
- North Carolina
- North Dakota – Class 1 ONLY
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
Under Louisiana state code 1379.3 out of state concealed carry permits are recognized by those states that recognize a Louisiana permit.
How To Apply for a Louisiana Concealed Carry License
Can I get a concealed carry permit in Louisiana?
Louisiana is a shall issue state. Applicants must meet certain requirements in order to obtain a lifetime permit. Some of the factors that would disqualify and applicant are listed below. However, this list is not comprehensive, so consult the code for clarification.
- ineligible to possess a gun due to conviction of a felony
- voluntary or involuntary committal for abuse of controlled substance
- found guilty (or enter plea of guilty/no contest) for a crime of violence
- dishonorable/or dismissal from service in the armed forces
- mentally or physically deficient to prevent ownership or safe handling of a firearm
What is the minimum age to obtain a CCW license in LA?
Louisiana requires applicants for a concealed permit to be at least 21 years old.
Who issues a concealed carry permit in Louisiana?
Louisiana resident applications should be submitted to the deputy secretary of public safety services of the Department of Public Safety and Corrections. They will then coordinate with the chief law enforcement officer of the applicants residence.
Any person may also apply with the sheriff of their county, for a concealed permit for that county only. Unless reciprocity is established with other counties, the permit issued is null and void. For this reason, it is recommended that you get a statewide concealed permit by applying with the Department of Public Safety and Corrections.
How long is a Louisiana concealed carry permit good for?
Louisiana issues permits for 5 years, but anyone qualified to receive a concealed permit is also eligible for a lifetime permit. However, even lifetime permit holders must provide proof of competency with a weapon every 5 years.
The state will provide a permit valid in smaller increments upon the request of the applicant.
Proof of competency includes various requirements, and failure to provide proof of completion will result in the suspension of a lifetime permit. For additional information, consult the below code, or view the firearm competency/training tab.
Does LA issue concealed permits to non-residents?
Louisiana does NOT issue non-resident permits. Per the following excerpt, licenses to carry a concealed weapon will only be issued to qualifying residents of the state.
“A concealed handgun permit shall be issued only to a Louisiana resident who qualifies for a permit under the provisions of this Section. A concealed handgun permit issued pursuant to the provisions of this Section shall grant authority to a Louisiana resident to carry a concealed handgun on his person.“
How long does it take to process a concealed carry application?
According to the code, the general timeline for receiving a concealed permit is 12 days from submission of completed application. Two working days are permitted for notifying the chief law enforcement officer of the applicants residence. Within 10 days, the chief law enforcement officer must provide to the deputy secretary any information regarding the applicants ability to qualify for a concealed permit.
However, while this timeline governs the exchange of information between departments, Louisiana code states the following:
“The deputy secretary of public safety services of the Department of Public Safety and Corrections shall issue timely and without delay the concealed handgun permit to all qualified applicants[…]“
How much does a concealed carry permit cost?
Obtaining a concealed carry permit will vary in cost depending on a number of factors. However, it is generally accepted that a 5 year permit will cost $125, or $25 for every year the permit is valid.
However, for a lifetime permit, the fee would be $500, which equates to $25 per year for 20 years. However, if the applicant is 65 years or older, the fee drops to $250, which is $25 per year for 10 years.
“An applicant for a lifetime concealed handgun permit shall pay the yearly fee[…]for a total of twenty years at the time the application is made.“
Furthermore, fees are waived for veterans of the armed services, for both 5 year and lifetime permits.
What are the accepted forms of competency training?
Louisiana has strict firearm training regulations for the issuance of a concealed permit. Below are examples of accepted training.
- NRA handgun safety or training course
- Dept. of Public Safety and Corrections approved course (within the past 12 months)
- Law enforcement firearms safety or training course
- Small arms training within the preceding sixty months while serving with the armed forces of the United States
- NRA personal protection course
Furthermore, the codes states the following:
“Any live range fire training required to demonstrate competency as authorized by the provisions of this Subsection may use live ammunition or fixed-case marking projectiles capable of being fired from a handgun.“
The above excerpt combined with the following requirements for 5 year re-certification on a lifetime permit (below) indicates that online only courses are not accepted as sufficient forms of training/proof of competency.
” (i) Instruction on handgun nomenclature and safe handling procedures for a revolver and a semiautomatic pistol.
(ii) Instruction on ammunition knowledge and fundamentals of pistol shooting.
(iii) Instruction on handgun shooting positions.
(iv) Instruction on the use of deadly force and conflict resolution which shall include a review of R.S. 14:18 through 22 and which may include a review of any other laws relating to use of deadly force.
(v) Instruction on child access prevention.
(vi) Actual live range fire and proper handgun cleaning procedures:
(aa) Live range fire shall include twelve rounds each at six feet, ten feet, and fifteen feet for a total of thirty-six rounds.
(bb) Each applicant or permittee must perform at least one safe reload of the handgun at each distance.
(cc) Each applicant or permittee must score one hundred percent hits within the silhouette portion of a N.R.A. B-27 type silhouette target with at least thirty-six rounds.“
Restrictions on Carrying A Firearm in Louisiana
Is Louisiana an Open Carry State?
Louisiana is considered an open carry state. While I was unable to find any criminal code pertaining to openly carrying a firearm, you can review all of the statutes below.
Can I Conceal Carry in a Vehicle?
Both concealed permit holders and non-holder are allowed to carry in a vehicle. Nothing in the Louisiana state code was found to prohibit the carrying of firearms within a vehicle, either openly or concealed. Below is a link to the criminal law section of Louisiana.
Can I Conceal Carry in State Parks?
Louisiana does allow licensed individuals to carry concealed within state parks.
“A person who lawfully possesses a firearm may possess or transport such firearm within the boundaries of a state park, state historic site, state preservation area, wildlife management area, or wildlife refuge.“
Am I Allowed To Conceal Carry In Restaurants?
Louisiana allows individuals with proper permit to carry concealed in restaurants. Individuals without a license are not allowed to carry on any premises that serves alcohol, per the following code:
“No person shall intentionally possess a firearm while on the premises of an alcoholic beverage outlet.[…]The provisions of this Section shall not apply to a person possessing a firearm in accordance with a concealed handgun permit issued pursuant to R.S. 40:1379.1 or 1379.3 on the premises of an alcoholic beverage outlet which has been issued a Class A-Restaurant permit.“
However, it is worth noting that concealed carry is forbidden in “Any portion of the permitted area of an establishment that has been granted a Class A-General retail permit.” Namely, this refers to any bar or pub.
Can I Conceal Carry in a Church?
A standard Louisiana permit does NOT allow you to carry concealed inside any place of worship, as indicated by the following excerpt.
“Any church, synagogue, mosque, or other similar place of worship, eligible for qualification as a tax-exempt organization[…]“
With the consent of the governing body, you may carry with a concealed permit, provided that the governing body inform the congregation of a decision to allow concealed firearms. Furthermore, the owner of the building or governing body may require an additional 8 hours of tactical training, to be conducted annually.
“Any church, synagogue, or mosque authorizing the carrying of concealed handguns pursuant to the provisions of this Subsection shall require an additional eight hours of tactical training for those persons wishing to carry concealed handguns in the church, synagogue, or mosque if required by the entity which has authority over the religious organization[…] This training shall be conducted annually.”
Can I Conceal Carry in a Bank?
Louisiana does not expressly prohibit a person with a concealed permit from carrying into a bank or other financial institution. However, the code does make clear that the owner of any private property has the ability to restrict access to those carrying a concealed firearm.
“[…]shall not limit the right of a property owner, lessee, or other lawful custodian to prohibit or restrict access of those persons possessing a concealed handgun pursuant to a permit issued under this Section.“
Can I Conceal Carry in a Hospital?
Similar to the law governing banks, an licensed individual is permitted to carry concealed in a hospital or other medical facility. While not specifically listed as a gun free zone, any posted signage should be heeded at a medical facility or hospital.
The content of this page is for informational purposes. It is not intended as a substitute for legal council, or intended as legal advice. It is recommended that you inquire with the state about the validity of the information contained herein.