Iowa is a shall issue state that offers two different types of weapons carry permits. First, Iowa provides a professional carry permit to those individuals who require one for their career. Applicants for a professional carry permit must be 18 years old in order to obtain. Second, the state offers a non-professional permit, available to individuals who are 21 years old. Non-professional permits are valid for 5 years and must be issued within 30 days. Applications must be sent to the sheriff of the county of residence or the commissioner of public safety. Both residents and non-residents are eligible to obtain an Iowa concealed permit and will cost $50. Holders of an Iowa permit are eligible to carry in 33 other states
This information was last updated in January 2019.
Table of Contents
Iowa Concealed Carry By The Numbers
Average Cost in Dollars
# of States That Accept IA License
# of Years Valid
# of Days To Get A Permit
Reciprocity Map for Iowa
Use the tabs below to display states that will accept an Iowa concealed carry permit or those states that Iowa will honor. Click the sections below for a complete listing of states in each category, along with other relevant information.
States That Honor Iowa Concealed Carry
- Alaska – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
- Arizona – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
- Colorado – Resident Permit ONLY
- Florida – Resident Permit ONLY
- Kansas – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
- Maine – Must be of legal age to carry and state ID required. Also honors resident permit.
- Mississippi – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
- Missouri – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
- Nebraska – Honors non-professional permit ONLY
- New Hampshire – Accepts state issued permit
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Pennsylvania – Resident Permit ONLY
- South Dakota
- West Virginia – Accepts state issued permit
Iowa Will Honor The Following States
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
Under Iowa state code 724.11A all valid out of state concealed carry permits are recognized.
How To Apply for an Iowa Concealed Carry License
Can I get a concealed carry permit in Iowa?
Iowa is a shall issue state. Applicants should not have any of the following on their records:
- history of alcohol addiction
- convicted of aggravated misdemeanor
- convicted of a felony
This list is not comprehensive, but outlines major obstacles to obtaining a concealed carry permit in Iowa. For a complete list, reference the below code(s).
What is the minimum age to obtain a CCW license in IA?
In order to obtain a non-professional permit to carry concealed, a person must be 21 years of age. However, individuals are eligible to apply for a professional permit, at 18 years of age. The applicant must meet certain professional requirements in order to be eligible to apply for this type of CCW permit.
Who issues a concealed carry permit in Iowa?
Applicants for a concealed carry in Iowa should apply with the sheriff of the county in which they reside. Furthermore, persons’ applying for professional permits from out of state must submit their application to the commissioner of public safety.
How long is an Iowa concealed carry permit good for?
Iowa state non-professional permits are valid for a period of 5 years. Professional concealed permits are valid for a period of 12 months from date of issuance. Although the professional carry permit does not apply to peace officers and correctional officers. These permits are valid for the duration of employment.
Does IA issue concealed permits to non-residents?
Iowa will issue concealed permits to non-residents. State code does not make residency a requirement for eligibility for an Iowa non-professional concealed carry permit.
How long does it take to process a concealed carry application?
According to the below code, the Sheriff’s office will have 30 days from receipt of a complete application and any fees to issue the permit.
How much does a concealed carry permit cost?
The fee for an initial license is $50 which is paid to the treasurer of the state and collected by the issuing authority. This fee is waived for peace officers and correctional officers.
What are the accepted forms of competency training?
The state of Iowa does require firearms safety training as part of the application for a concealed carry permit. The following are accepted forms of firearms safety training:
- NRA handgun safety course
- Small arms training from U.S. Military
- Law Enforcement firearm safety training
- Hunter education program
It’s worth noting that online training is acceptable and meets the requirements, per the following excerpt:
“[…]may be conducted over the internet in a live or web based format[…]“
Verification of firearms safety completion must be provided. Firearms safety instruction must have been completed within the past 24 months of application to be accepted.
Restrictions on Carrying A Firearm in Iowa
Is Iowa an Open Carry State?
Iowa permits allow the holder to carry either concealed or openly. However, without a permit, any person listed in the following section is guilty of a crime.
Can I Conceal Carry in a Vehicle?
Persons with a permit may carry a weapon concealed in a vehicle. However, those without a permit may carry their firearm under the following conditions; the firearm must be unloaded, inside a closed and fastened container and not readily accessible to any person in the vehicle.
Can I Conceal Carry in State Parks?
Iowa law is not clear about this subject. However, it appears that you are able to possess a concealed weapon, but are not permitted to use it. Please reference the administrative code for clarification.
Am I Allowed To Conceal Carry In Restaurants?
Restaurants are not listed in the weapons free zones, and therefore permit holders are allowed to carry concealed into restaurants. Furthermore, no indication is made that bars or any other establishment that serves alcohol are off limits to permit holders. However, the code does forbid carrying while under the influence.
Can I Conceal Carry in a Church?
Churches and other places of worship are not listed within Iowa state code as weapon free zones. It is recommended that you follow any posted signage that would restrict your right to carry, even though signs do not appear to have the weight of law behind them.
Can I Conceal Carry in a Bank?
Permit holders are allowed to carry within banks and other financial institutions under Iowa law. Banks are not listed among the weapon free zones under Iowa code.
Can I Conceal Carry in a Hospital?
Hospitals are not expressly listed in the Iowa state code as weapon free zones, and as such permit holders are permitted to carry in hospitals and other medical facilities. However, due to the sensitive nature of these facilities, it is recommended that you follow any posted signage.
The content of this page is for informational purposes. It is not intended as a substitute for legal council, or intended as legal advice. It is recommended that you inquire with the state about the validity of the information contained herein.