Alaska state law allows any person 21 years old and over to carry a firearm openly or concealed without a permit. However, Alaska does allow residents to apply for an Alaska Concealed Handgun Permit (ACHP) even though one is not required by the state. This allows the holder to carry concealed in certain states that have reciprocity with Alaska.

Applicants should apply with the office of the Alaska State Troopers. In addition to supplying necessary forms, the state also requires fingerprints, and proven competency of handling firearms. The fee for an ACHP will not exceed $99. The license is valid for 5 years. An Alaska concealed permit is accepted by 38 other states.

This information was last updated in October 2018.

Reciprocity Map for Alaska

Use the tabs below to display states that will accept an Alaska concealed carry permit or those states that Alaska will honor. Click the sections below for a complete listing of states in each category, along with other relevant information.

You must be 21 years old for your permit to be recognized by Alaska.

States That Honor Alaska Concealed Carry
  1. Alabama
  2. Arkansas
  3. Arizona
  4. Colorado – Resident Permit ONLY
  5. Deleware
  6. Florida – Resident Permit ONLY
  7. Georgia
  8. Idaho
  9. Indiana
  10. Iowa
  11. Kansas – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
  12. Kentucky
  13. Louisiana
  14. Maine – Resident Permit ONLY
  15. Michigan
  16. Minnesota
  17. Mississippi – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
  18. Missouri – Must be of legal age to carry, and state ID required. Also honors state issued concealed carry permit.
  19. Montana
  20. Nebraska
  21. Nevada
  22. New Hampshire
  23. New Mexico
  24. North Carolina
  25. North Dakota
  26. Ohio
  27. Oklahoma
  28. Pennsylvania – Resident Permit ONLY
  29. South Carolina – Resident Permit ONLY
  30. South Dakota
  31. Tennessee
  32. Texas
  33. Utah
  34. Vermont
  35. Virginia
  36. West Virginia
  37. Wisconsin
  38. Wyoming
Alaska Will Honor The Following States

Alaska is a constitutional carry state, which does not require a permit for open carry or conceal carry. However, regardless of the issuing states requirements, individuals must be 21 to carry concealed in Alaska.

  1. Alabama
  2. Alaska
  3. Arizona
  4. Arkansas
  5. California
  6. Colorado
  7. Connecticut
  8. Delaware
  9. Florida
  10. Georgia
  11. Hawaii
  12. Idaho
  13. Illinois
  14. Indiana
  15. Iowa
  16. Kansas
  17. Kentucky
  18. Louisiana
  19. Maine
  20. Maryland
  21. Massachusetts
  22. Michigan
  23. Minnesota
  24. Mississippi
  25. Missouri
  26. Montana
  27. Nebraska
  28. Nevada
  29. New Hampshire
  30. New Jersey
  31. New Mexico
  32. New York
  33. North Carolina
  34. North Dakota
  35. Ohio
  36. Oklahoma
  37. Oregon
  38. Pennsylvania
  39. Rhode Island
  40. South Carolina
  41. South Dakota
  42. Tennessee
  43. Texas
  44. Utah
  45. Vermont
  46. Virginia
  47. Washington
  48. West Virginia
  49. Wisconsin
  50. Wyoming

Under Alaska state code 18.65.748 all valid out of state concealed carry permits are recognized.

How To Apply for an Alaska Concealed Carry License

Can I get a concealed carry permit in Alaska?

Yes, you can get a concealed carry if you are a resident of Alaska. However, one is not required to carry concealed. Alaska is a constitutional carry state. This means that persons are not required to have a permit to carry openly or concealed. However, in order to allow residents to carry concealed in other states, they may apply for a concealed carry permit (ACHP).

What is the minimum age to obtain a CCW license in AK?

Alaska states that in order to obtain an Alaska concealed handgun permit (ACHP), they must meet the following requirements in addition to be eligible to:

  1. Minimum age 21
  2. Is a current resident of the state (no less than 90 days)
  3. Completed handgun competency training
  4. Not convicted of 2 or more Class A misdemeanors in the 6 years preceding application
  5. Not ordered by the courts for alcohol or substance abuse school in the 3 years preceding application

Relevant Code(s):

Section 18.65.705

Who issues a concealed carry permit in Alaska?

Residents of Alaska should apply with the office of the Alaska State Troopers to obtain a concealed permit. The request will be processed within 30 days of a submitted complete application.

Relevant Code(s):

Section 18.65.700

How long is an Alaska concealed carry permit good for?

Alaska concealed carry permits are valid for 5 years. The expiration occurs on the individuals birthday in the fifth year.

Relevant Code(s):

Section 18.65.700

Does AK issue concealed permits to non-residents?

Alaska does not issue non-resident concealed carry permits. Applicants for a concealed carry permit must be a resident of the state, and maintained resident status for no less than 90 days preceding application.

Relevant Code(s):

Section 18.65.705

How long does it take to process a concealed carry application?

According to the below code, the state will have 30 days from receipt of a complete application (including valid fingerprint information) and any fees to issue the permit.

Relevant Code(s):

Section 18.65.700

How much does a concealed carry permit cost?

The cost to obtain a concealed carry permit in Alaska will not exceed $99. However, to replace a lost permit or renew a permit, the cost will not exceed $30.

Furthermore, any renewal that takes place after expiration of the permit is subject to an additional $25 fee.

Relevant Code(s):

Section 18.65.715

Section 18.65.725

What are the accepted forms of competency training?

Alaska requires competency training to obtain a concealed permit. The course must be approved by the department, and should have been completed within the past 12 months. Furthermore, residents should request a list of acceptable courses by inquiring with the state.

Relevant Code(s):


Restrictions on Carrying A Firearm in Alaska

Is Alaska an Open Carry State?

Alaska is an open carry state. As long as a person is eligible to carry a weapon and is of legal age (21 years) they can carry a firearm concealed or openly.

Can I Conceal Carry in a Vehicle?

Alaska allows residents to carry a firearm in their vehicle. However, employers can restrict carrying by employees in company vehicles or in restricted access areas.

Relevant Code(s):

Section 18.65.800

Can I Conceal Carry in State Parks?

You are allowed to carry a concealed firearm into Alaska state parks, provided you can legally possess a firearm.

Relevant Code(s):

Section not provided – see details here

Do I have to inform the officer I am carrying concealed?

It is required by state law to inform an officer if you are carrying concealed upon being contacted by a peace officer. Failure to inform, or allow the officer to secure the weapon, means you will be guilty of misconduct in the fifth degree.

Relevant Code(s):

Section 11.61.220

Am I Allowed To Conceal Carry In Restaurants?

According to the Alaska law, you are not prohibited from carrying concealed into a restaurant as long as you do not consume alcohol. The below code describes misconduct of firearms in the third degree.

“[…]possesses on the person a firearm when the person’s physical or mental condition is impaired as a result of the introduction of an intoxicating liquor or controlled substance into the person’s body”

However, it is illegal to “knowingly possesses a loaded firearm on the person in any place where intoxicating liquor is sold for consumption on the premises.

Relevant Code(s):

Section 11.61.200

Section 11.61.220

Can I Conceal Carry in a Church?

There is nothing in Alaska state law that indicates it is illegal to conceal carry a weapon into a church or place of worship. However, it is recommended that you pay close attention to any posted signage indicating the establishment does not allow firearms.

Can I Conceal Carry in a Bank?

There is no state statute that restricts and individuals right to carry a concealed weapon into a bank. However, pay close attention to any posted signage naming an establishment as gun-free.

Can I Conceal Carry in a Hospital?

Alaska does not expressly prohibit carrying a concealed weapon into a hospital. However, you should respect any posted signage declaring firearms are prohibited on premises.

The content of this page is for informational purposes. It is not intended as a substitute for legal council, or intended as legal advice. It is recommended that you inquire with the state about the validity of the information contained herein.